Students

Ontario Teaching Programs - Asking for Advice and Experience!

[OP]
May 22, 2020
1 posts
1 upvote

Ontario Teaching Programs - Asking for Advice and Experience!

Hey guys! So in September, I'll be applying to teaching colleges in Ontario for primary levels, and honestly, I'm not sure what to expect, so I was wondering if I could get some insight!
I'm currently at McMaster doing honours history with a minor in English, and my grades are around the B range (varies when talking about best 10 vs most recent 10).
Although these grades aren't particularly competitive, I have a wide history of teaching. I did a coop in a kindergarten classroom way back in grade 11, I worked as a swim instructor for 2.5 years (and was a supervisor at my pool), and I have recently (the past year) been working in an elementary school with preschool to grade ones as an afterschool teacher and camp leader/supervisor.
I've heard that teaching programs have gotten competitive, so honestly, I'm wondering where it is even worth applying to. I'm scared that my grades won't give me very many opportunities.
My three top schools are Queens University, Brock University, and Western University, but I have also been looking into applying at the University of Ottawa, Windsor, Laurier, Trent, and Nippising.
Does anyone have any advice? Where would I likely get accepted to? And which teaching program has the greatest acceptance rates? What is the application process like and when would I likely hear back from each school? Should I apply anywhere else?
Thank you! :)
7 replies
Jul 28, 2017
259 posts
694 upvotes