Fashion & Beauty

Optical stores - lens quality difference?

• Last Updated:
  • Jun 6th, 2021 10:54 pm
[OP]
Deal Addict
Oct 4, 2006
3014 posts
1982 upvotes
Toronto

Optical stores - lens quality difference?

I'm no expert on the subject, but do all optical stores basically carry the same components i.e. glass?

I've not been entirely happy with my recent prescriptions.
Can anyone can point to a store in Toronto that provides high quality glass/coatings etc?
23 replies
Deal Guru
Mar 31, 2008
12821 posts
2926 upvotes
Toronto
I think they do differ vastly. My parent's friend ran a shop, and I got really bad contacts and glasses, that scratched so easily. I have no idea how one could get such crappy products, but I'm sure it was some cheap no name overseas operations.

Going to one downtown called Zoom Optical in the PATH (owner also has one at Yonge n Lawrence) has been way way better. In fact, I wore a pair for nearly 5+ years. The owner Monica also does a great job adjusting the frame to make sure it's lined up correctly, and is very friendly/welcoming. My Rx is quite bad so I'm quite picky and aware of lens quality. There are pricey frames but also cheap no name ones that are very good as well (which I tend to get since my lens cost so damn much... those Pacific Mall places don't carry that level of type of lens). I also bought alot of contacts way back too. Sure it's Bausch n Lomb where you could get anywhere but still have some left over and wear them despite it being notably after the BB date.

http://www.zoomoptical.ca/where.htm

I'm sure big brand place (Hakim?) or chains at Walmart might also be similar, but Zoom I consider more premium and owner attentive, especially quality control and desire to keep you as a long-term customer. My few experiences at the Walmart Optical is one of just an employee, and you're not encouraged to go back at all.