• Last Updated:
  • Feb 11th, 2019 6:50 pm
Tags:
[OP]
Nov 12, 2018
1 posts

Ordering lens to Canada

Hey

I'm new to Canada and I think but I'm not sure, if ordering a lens from United states is there any tax/customs fees?
Looking to score a nice lens during black friday sales
16 replies
Dec 1, 2016
162 posts
36 upvotes
mississauga
if you order from Bhphoto, i think you can have free ship for 99Us$+, of course you pay tax in canada 13%, not sure about custom/brokage fee.
Deal Guru
Jan 27, 2006
11343 posts
4633 upvotes
Vancouver, BC
Before you order that lens from the US, you should familiarize yourself with what will happen to the warranty in Canada. A few OEMs won't warranty the product if it was purchased from another country (heck, Nikon won't even repair it if you paid them to) so you have to see if it's worth the extra trouble if you ever need warranty work.
Deal Addict
Aug 1, 2010
1120 posts
748 upvotes
Montreal
Ditto

Avoid buying from the USA because of warranty. You won't pay more here. BF deals are often mandated by manufacturers, deals will be similar in Canada.
Jun 13, 2009
413 posts
142 upvotes
Toronto
Yes there will likely be taxes payable. If you order with amazon, they will add the expected taxes/duties in the total cost so you won't have to worry about delays or paying anything when the item arrives in Canada. If amazon charges the extra for import duties and they are not collected/required by cbsa, they will refund the amount to you.
Deal Addict
Mar 17, 2004
4898 posts
318 upvotes
Photographic equipment imported into Canada is Duty Free. But you may have to pay TAX and/or Brokerage fees. But sometimes you get lucky and pay nothing
Feb 16, 2014
645 posts
128 upvotes
London
craftsman wrote:
Nov 14th, 2018 1:47 am
(heck, Nikon won't even repair it if you paid them to) so you have to see if it's worth the extra trouble if you ever need warranty work.