Students

Osap tips/advice/questions

Mar 6, 2015
683 posts
50 upvotes
zeddy wrote:
How about TFSA then?
If the post or comment helps or delights you, please CLICK that LIKE BUTTON!😃
Meiji: Ambassador Swanbeck, I have concluded that your treaty is NOT in the best interests of my people. So sorry, but you may not.
Swanbeck: This is an outrage!
Jun 12, 2008
979 posts
426 upvotes
Ripley
cybercavalier wrote: How about TFSA then?
It will depend on how long until you need the money to repay to OSAP. What kind of investment are you looking at inside the TFSA? How much money? and for how long? With that information its probably better to post in Personal Finance for advise.
May 7, 2017
23 posts
random question but how many OSAP-eligible students voted for Ford. I mean are there actual demographic numbers.
Nov 27, 2018
1 posts
Need Help:

I was a full-time student of post grad certificate course. I have passed one semester (all course) and was enrolled in final semester. Fortunately, I found job and was hired in Ottawa. Due to relocation I can not continue my studies therefore I withdrew from the semester and my fee was refunded.

I am willing to know if I completely withdraw from program how would my OSAP be impacted? would my first semester would also be converted into loan??
Jan 24, 2017
25 posts
10 upvotes
https://osap.gov.on.ca/dc/PRDR018986

In OSAP application form, it asks parent’s Foreign income/Canadian non-taxable income, especially from TFSA account as below:
• interest, dividends or capital gains from tax-free savings accounts (TFSA) regardless of the original source of the income

My question is how to calculate capital gain of securities from TFSA if there is no selling in a specific year eg. 2018?
Example 1, I bought AAPL 2015, but I did NOT sell it in 2018, how to calculate the capital gain in 2018?
Example 2, I bought AAPL 2015, I DID sell it in 2018, how to calculate the capital gain for 2018 part?