Students

Is a philosophy degree a waste like everyone says?

• Last Updated:
  • Apr 28th, 2019 2:03 am
[OP]
Penalty Box
Mar 8, 2016
325 posts
48 upvotes

Is a philosophy degree a waste like everyone says?

Is it truly pointless to take a philosophy degree, as you can't really use it in the work force except to get into law?
Also, why would a person want to take a philosophy degree if its truly useless?

My cousin wants to take it and just want to get university graduates/students opinions
35 replies
Jul 26, 2013
592 posts
368 upvotes
Toronto
I don't have a philosophy degree but I've been studying philosophy as a hobby for nearly 30 years. For what it's worth...

As you wisely note, philosophy degrees usually don't map well to many job skills. A friend of a friend of mine received his degree in philosophy and he's a professional salesman today. This is probably why a common mistake some that haven't studied philosophy make is viewing it as a sort of ideology. I had a friend that once even claimed philosophy was "mental masturbation". While some make nonsense claims that you can't know anything (a self-contradictory statement) studying philosophy *does* allow someone to peel a few layers away from what most claim as reality. This is a rational consquence of studying what we claim as knowledge, existence, ethics, and even language itself.

There are negatives too though.