• Dec 28th, 2020 5:18 pm
Tags:
[OP]
Jul 2, 2015
21 posts
11 upvotes
Stavely, AB

Phone Jack Won't Fit

Ironically I've never owned a land line telephone until now, but we need one for our intercom. Our place is newly renovated, but the building was built in the 1970s, and for some reason the phone cord for our new phone won't physically fit into the jack.

Now, I work in IT, so I know what an ethernet cable is. This isn't one. It's a regular phone cord and (seemingly) an ordinary wall jack. But the wall jack is slightly too small to insert the phone cable. Could this be some weird older standard or a fax line or some other retro shit?
17 replies
Deal Expert
Jan 27, 2006
16453 posts
9263 upvotes
Vancouver, BC
ClassicCool wrote: Ironically I've never owned a land line telephone until now, but we need one for our intercom. Our place is newly renovated, but the building was built in the 1970s, and for some reason the phone cord for our new phone won't physically fit into the jack.

Now, I work in IT, so I know what an ethernet cable is. This isn't one. It's a regular phone cord and (seemingly) an ordinary wall jack. But the wall jack is slightly too small to insert the phone cable. Could this be some weird older standard or a fax line or some other retro shit?
To answer your question no. A faxline is a normal telephone jack or commonly referred to as an RJ-11. The RJ-11 supports 6 conductors (3 lines) and is typically used to connect the phone to the wall. Another RJ connector typically used is an RJ-9 which supports 4 conductors and it goes from the phone base to the handset and is physically smaller than the RJ-11.

I would suggest that you count the number of conductors on your cord and jack to see if they match.
Mar 8, 2013
338 posts
615 upvotes
Toronto
If it's a new jack from a reno, and it's only slighter smaller, it might be a manufacturing defect. Can you post a photo of the jack and cable?

Deal Addict
Nov 14, 2003
4487 posts
2776 upvotes
Gotham