[OP]
Feb 16, 2007
391 posts
15 upvotes
Toronto

Planning my future post big 4 (accounting) - Advice needed

Hi everyone,
Here is my situation:

I am currently a coop student at a Toronto big 4 office in audit - specifically, in financial services (funds, banks, pensions, insurance, etc). I will be hired as a full time in September 2013 as an experienced hire. I will then need to work for another 10 months before the promotion to Senior in 2014. In 2015, I will have accumulated all my CA hours and hopefully would have passed all the tests to receive my CA.

At that time I would like to potentially go into investment banking as I've seen many seniors do throughout my time at this firm (Credit Suisse, Big 5, boutique, etc). I feel like it's a little taboo to ask these people exiting the firm how they do this, and thought RFD might be a better forum since people are able to express themselves anonymously and without reservations.

(1) I would like to know what I can do within the next 3 years to put myself in the best position to have the choice to go into ibanking. I am currently planning to take the CFA level one this December, and level two after I pass the UFE in 2014. Should I take additional courses such as econometrics to boost my resume?
(2) How do I apply? Should I approach ibanking campus recruiters while still in school, so should I wait until I receive the CA?
(3) Should I go through headhunters? If so, should I start making connections right now?
(4) What type of people are they looking for? Which qualities should I improve on in order to rock the interviews?

Any advice would be greatly helpful. I am simply looking for information so that I can plan my life and make an informed decision when the time comes.
13 replies
Oct 13, 2008
347 posts
20 upvotes
Mississauga
i know a manager who left my firm to go into i-banking. i believe he had done levels 1 and 2 of the CFA as well, so if thats your goal, the CFA is definitely a step in the right direction.