Health & Wellness

Please donate/provide your N95 masks - IMPORTANT

Apr 3, 2008
137 posts
65 upvotes

Please donate/provide your N95 masks - IMPORTANT

Hi everyone, I am posting this thread as a concerned healthcare provider and a fellow RFDer. My previous thread imploring help from the community was moved to a thread that was asking to buy N95s. I'm hoping that the moderators will allow this thread to stay the way it is.

I am a surgeon working in the Halton region. As you know, N95 masks are crucial for front line health workers when we are treating patients with presumed or confirmed COVID. Our healthcare system is extremely strained when it comes to providing personal protective equipment to our doctors and nurses. We have been asked to reuse our supplies of N95 which obviously poses a huge health risk to everyone involved. I know RFDers must have personal stashes of N95 masks at home. Remember, these masks are not meant for the average person to avoid catching COVID. Hand hygiene is much more effective. The likelihood of the average person to come into contact with high viral load when things like social distancing is practiced is extremely low. However, when a doctor is coming face to face with someone extremely sick with COVID or a surgery is done on a patient with COVID the viral load within the operating room is extremely high.

Let me repeat. YOU do not need N95s to protect yourselves. We, as healthcare workers, ABSOLUTELY NEED THEM for every patient we see.

Therefore I am calling on the RFD community to help out. If you are in any way interested in donating your own stash of N95s to the various hospitals please let me know via PMs or just replying to this thread. Please state the size of your mask and how many you have. If the response is strong, I will mobilize our hospital resources to try and obtain these N95 masks from you.

Your help and donation is greatly appreciated and please stay safe.