Careers

Plumbing career

• Last Updated:
  • Apr 5th, 2022 3:23 pm
Jan 26, 2021
19 posts
20 upvotes

Plumbing career

I finished high school about a year ago I’m thinking about pursuing a trade specifically plumbing. Anybody nice enough to share what the steps would be to become a licensed plumber and how would I start ? I have some but not a lot of experience using power tools. I like to work with my hands and I do drive and have strong communication skills. Is anyone nice enough to give me some info or help me somehow ? I appreciate it thanks. Do I need to pursue a collage program for mechanical techniques first or do I seek an apprenticeship etc. Anybody nice enough to give me some info? I’m located in Ontario.
64 replies
Deal Addict
Feb 8, 2006
1178 posts
552 upvotes
Toronto
I would avoid any college programs as it does not guarantee any job. I would seek an apprenticeship directly. Check out UA Local 46 or your own area's local and see if they are taking in any new apprentices.
buffylover wrote: im pretty sure thincrust hates you
Jan 26, 2021
19 posts
20 upvotes
Thank you for your reply, now as for “locals hiring apprentices” do you just call around and ask or send them an email etc? Someone else also told me to keep calling the union until they’re willing to take me in. I do not have any experience in plumbing would it still be a good idea to call the union? I just want to get into the career and I think it’s a good time because I’m still young and not even 22 yet.
Deal Addict
Jan 1, 2017
1826 posts
1876 upvotes
Musiclover2000 wrote: Thank you for your reply, now as for “locals hiring apprentices” do you just call around and ask or send them an email etc? Someone else also told me to keep calling the union until they’re willing to take me in. I do not have any experience in plumbing would it still be a good idea to call the union? I just want to get into the career and I think it’s a good time because I’m still young and not even 22 yet.
Check this out: