• Last Updated:
  • Dec 4th, 2020 6:32 am
[OP]
Nov 26, 2003
789 posts
159 upvotes
Halifax

Pokemon cards

I know nothing about Pokemon cards and both my boys want some for Christmas. Who has the best deals right now, and what boxes are the best to get some good cards? I know Costco has a few options in the warehouse. Any advice is appreciated.
7 replies
Dec 21, 2008
255 posts
161 upvotes
I collect Hockey Cards so I'm not an expert but my kids have recently started collecting Pokemon. I've learned the following;

How you proceed will depend on if your kids want to Play, Collect or both.

- Newer releases are more in demand but there are a few releases from the past that are harder to get. Here's a list of expansions/releases https://bulbapedia.bulbagarden.net/wiki ... expansions

- Booster Packs are the way to go to get rarer insert cards for example: https://www.toysrus.ca/en/Pokemon-Sword ... 269ED.html

- To start building a deck you can buy new base decks or try kijiji or facebook marketplace to get some secondhand. Either way it won't really matter because your kids will want to supplement their base decks with better insert cards they pull from booster packs.
El Cheapo
Deal Expert
Dec 1, 2003
20966 posts
3548 upvotes
YUL
Costco, at least here in Quebec has them most of the time. Seems to be the best deal around.
Jul 7, 2016
350 posts
701 upvotes
Costco has the following sets (order of best value in my opinion):