Automotive

Police filed accident report on the spot - will insurance company notified?

• Last Updated:
  • Jun 7th, 2021 10:17 pm
[OP]
Jun 6, 2021
4 posts
2 upvotes

Police filed accident report on the spot - will insurance company notified?

Hello,

I'm a driver in Ontario. I had an accident due to mechanical failure. Because of mechanical failure, I ended up driving into other guy's bush.

The other party called police, and the officer filed a report on the spot. I think the police marked my incident as mechanical failure.

Since I'm driving a beater and the damage is done to one bush, I'm planning to pay out of my pocket and get a new vehicle if insurance company is not notified. Otherwise, I wouldn't mind reporting to insurance and starting a claim.

If police filed a report on the spot, will it be notified to insurance company automatically?
10 replies
Deal Addict
Oct 13, 2007
3694 posts
2359 upvotes
Edmonton
MS1234 wrote: Hello,

I'm a driver in Ontario. I had an accident due to mechanical failure. Because of mechanical failure, I ended up driving into other guy's bush.

The other party called police, and the officer filed a report on the spot. I think the police marked my incident as mechanical failure.

Since I'm driving a beater and the damage is done to one bush, I'm planning to pay out of my pocket and get a new vehicle if insurance company is not notified. Otherwise, I wouldn't mind reporting to insurance and starting a claim.

If police filed a report on the spot, will it be notified to insurance company automatically?
No
Deal Addict
Mar 7, 2007
4434 posts
1909 upvotes
A police report filed on the spot? Not sure what that means.

What does it mean?

Anyway, as long as you don't go to the Collision Reporting Centre, chances are your insurance won't know.
[OP]
Jun 6, 2021
4 posts
2 upvotes
Sorry,

I meant police filed a report on the scene when they arrived. I’m not sure what kind of report it is.