• May 4th, 2017 5:42 am
Tags:
[OP]
Deal Addict
Apr 24, 2017
2310 posts
849 upvotes

Pool Plumbing PVC Piping

I need to install a check valve on my pool plumbing. Does anyone know if there is a certain grade of PVC piping required?
8 replies
Deal Addict
Jan 13, 2004
1599 posts
476 upvotes
Mississauga
Lowe's carries it or poolsuppliescanada.com
"With today's sheep mentality sometimes I feel like going to a wall and just bang my head"
Deal Guru
Jan 25, 2007
11980 posts
7134 upvotes
Paris
I find Home Hardware to be cheaper than Lowe's for all Schedule 40 pipe by 10% on pipe and 30-40% on fittings. Just my experience.
Jul 7, 2007
498 posts
66 upvotes
Toronto
Newbie here to pools as I am currently in the process of researching pools.....does it really matter is the pvc pipe is flex or hard?
I know that hard is better quality, but it seems most installers offer flex.....
Deal Guru
Jan 25, 2007
11980 posts
7134 upvotes
Paris
fliime wrote: Newbie here to pools as I am currently in the process of researching pools.....does it really matter is the pvc pipe is flex or hard?
I know that hard is better quality, but it seems most installers offer flex.....
Flexible pipe (liquid or air) slows down the thing being pumped as the ribs in flexible pipe don't allow the medium to run as fast at the walls.

So with flexible pipe, you might not get the same volume. My experience is more with dust collector planning, but it holds true for liquids as well. The rule of thumb for vacuums was 3 feet of flex = 9 feet of smooth. Same with elbows... 1 elbow = 3 feet of pipe. Those are just the easy calculations... Real head and pressure calculations are more accurate.
Deal Addict
Jul 6, 2005
4271 posts
1869 upvotes
Toronto
Jerico wrote: Flexible pipe (liquid or air) slows down the thing being pumped as the ribs in flexible pipe don't allow the medium to run as fast at the walls.