• May 22nd, 2021 7:36 pm
[OP]
Deal Expert
Sep 21, 2010
15185 posts
4593 upvotes
Montréal

Pork back ribs vs pork button bones

I'm a novice in this but I'm so addicted haha. They both taste the same but while the weight of the usual packages are about the same, the button bones cost about 1/2 the price but there are way more bones/less meat.

Which do you prefer and which has better value or does it end up being the same?
Hard work, inheritance, interest on interest accumulating, and stock and real estate speculation. It's all good.
8 replies
Deal Expert
Feb 7, 2017
17761 posts
15216 upvotes
Eastern Ontario
If you are gonna get into serious Barrrr-Beee-Q
Then it’s important that you learn about the cuts of meat from the animals you choose to eat

Here’s a good website that explains Pork Ribs
And what sets each named type apart

* Baby Back Ribs
* Spare Ribs
* St Louis Cut Ribs
* Rib Tips

A pig only has 14 rib bones
So it’s truly all about the butchering ... how they are cut & trimmed / presented
https://www.smokedbbqsource.com/types-of-pork-ribs/

EDIT / ADD ... Meat Cutting is actually quite fascinating
In so much as there can be differences depending on where in the world you are
Example ... North American cuts vs European Cuts
And even US vs Canada ... well as far as nomenclature goes

Cuts of Pork = https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Cut_of_pork
Cuts of Beef = https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Cut_of_beef
[OP]
Deal Expert
Sep 21, 2010
15185 posts
4593 upvotes
Montréal
Tx, that's very informative.

I'm just a 'basic' ribs eater and only use my oven. Attached is a pic of the 2 types I encounter regularly in the stores - based on my OP question, which is better value? To me, they both taste similar enough to not be a deal-breaker...although admittedly I prefer the texture of the ribs meat.
ribs.png
Hard work, inheritance, interest on interest accumulating, and stock and real estate speculation. It's all good.
May 29, 2017
150 posts
29 upvotes