Home & Garden

Possible to use propane tank for fireplace and standby generator ?

• Last Updated:
  • Feb 21st, 2021 4:56 pm
[OP]
Mar 3, 2012
202 posts
102 upvotes
Montreal, QC

Possible to use propane tank for fireplace and standby generator ?

Hi,
I have a question. I plan to add a standby generator.
I will put a 420 gallon tank outside for fireplace and would like to use the tank to power my future Generac standby generator. Is there any issue to add a split valve to go fireplace and to generator ? The generator would power the house central furnace so don't plan to use the fireplace in case of power outage.

Well maybe for couple of min for sexy time.

Thanks !
7 replies
Dec 27, 2014
94 posts
98 upvotes
Toronto, ON
I might be wrong here, I'm no professional but I have had propane powered generators at my last 3 houses. I believe the manufacturers recommend at least 2 x 420lb tanks to run them.

We had one installed a year and a half ago, and had to add a second tank (we had one already for a garage heater).

Just my experience...
Deal Fanatic
Jan 25, 2007
9617 posts
5016 upvotes
Paris
We have a 1000 gallon that powers 2 fireplaces, water heater, furnace and generac at the cottage.
[OP]
Mar 3, 2012
202 posts
102 upvotes
Montreal, QC
Jerico wrote: We have a 1000 gallon that powers 2 fireplaces, water heater, furnace and generac at the cottage.
I presume you can use a split valve for that?
Deal Fanatic
Jan 25, 2007
9617 posts
5016 upvotes
Paris
deadtorights wrote: I presume you can use a split valve for that?
I actually dont remember… I think there is a manifold inside the cottage to be honest. Forgot, we actually have a BBQ line as well.