• Mar 30th, 2021 8:36 am
Tags:
Sep 6, 2020
25 posts
10 upvotes
GTA

Pre listing inspection?

Hi everyone,

I'm looking to list a house in scarborough in the next few weeks. This is my first time selling a property. Are pre listing inspections common nowadays? My listing agent is pushing that I get an inspection before listing, and insisting I pay for it (~$350). I don't recall many homes having an inspection when we bought..

I just have a few concerns if i do get an inspection.. i'm aware a window has a hairline crack (from a rock hitting it), some windows from late 80s-early 90s?, basement 2 piece washroom doesn't have fan, basement vinyl flooring has a few pieces that don't click well, roof about 10 yrs old.. Other than that, water heater, furnace upgraded recently, newer 100a electrical panel, etc. I don't want to reshingle the roof or get new windows. Is it in my best interest to get an inspection then if i know these items will be brought up? I'm reading houses are selling mostly firm.. Is this because sellers already have an inspection or buyers taking chances? It sounds like listing agent wants to avoid lawsuits, said i might get sued later if buyer finds issues.

Thanks in advance.
Part-time Real Estate Agent
29 replies
Deal Fanatic
Jan 15, 2017
5750 posts
6123 upvotes
Ottawa
Get a new Realtor.

I would never trust an inspection report done for a home owner. It is a waste of time and money. Your Realtor is providing poor advice. Even in a multiple bidding situation some potential buyers will still pay for their own inspections prior to making an offer.
Sep 6, 2020
25 posts
10 upvotes
GTA
Yes sounds like I need a new realtor. I'm paying 1.5% for listing, without staging or 2.5% with staging. Do you think having an inspection report will give some buyers more comfort? Do inspectors overlook some stuff if it's pre listing inspection?
Deal Addict
Oct 22, 2016
1047 posts
987 upvotes
Comox Valley