QuattroTires.com Buy or Not?

• Last Updated:
  • Oct 16th, 2020 12:24 am
Tags:
Deal Fanatic
Mar 21, 2002
6333 posts
989 upvotes
Ordered 4 tires last fall. Quebec to Manitoba took a week by Fedex. Smooth transaction, no issues. I would buy from them again if I had to although I prefer to buy locally but the tires I wanted weren't available here.
Apr 7, 2018
1 posts
5 upvotes
If you have a few minutes I will try to explain what and why we use road force wheel balancing. I am a subject matter expert that educates automotive apprentices. What road force balance does is it identifies the stiff spots of the tire's construction. The side wall of the tire is not 100 percent consistent all around the tire so there is what we refer to as heavy/stiff spots of the tire. In the past we were not concerned about these heavy spots. The heavy spots cause a slight vibration which believe it or not may even seem like a wheel bearing noise. On older cars the chassis, sub-frames and suspension mounts design of the vehicle would absorb these vibrations and noise. Every new generation of vehicles handle better but the sacrifice of better handling is chassis design that does not flex as much as before causing more transfer of vibration from the wheels. So the newer vehicles especially high performance vehicles we need to match heavy spots in the side walls of the tires to low points in the rims reducing the vibration. What road force does is it measures the wheel and tire and directs you to match the best position of each. How the machine works is it uses a drum and applies pressure to true the side wall and find the stiff spots and compare it to a physical measurement of the wheels mounting surface. If too much pressure is required to true the tire and cannot be matched out that tire will fail the balance and should not be able to be used on the vehicle. In my experience the better tire brands seem to road force better. Many cars may not need road force however cars like BMW, Cadillac, P