Careers

Question about education evaluation of a Canadian citizen for a TN visa application for working in USA

• Last Updated:
  • Oct 11th, 2019 11:32 am
[OP]
Jun 3, 2019
3 posts

Question about education evaluation of a Canadian citizen for a TN visa application for working in USA

Hi,

I am a Canadian citizen living in Canada now. Currently I am preparing documents to apply a TN Visa to work in USA. Because I got my bachelor degree in Chinese university, so I need to get an education evaluation. Because evaluation agencies in Canada are really slow processing, so I am going to get an evaluation from a United States evaluation agency who will complete in shorter time.

However, my US employer said because I am a Canadian citizen and going to move from Canada to USA, I MUST get an education evaluation report from a Canada evaluation agency instead of a US agency as per NAFTA requirement. Otherwise, the CBP officer might not accept it.

Is this true? Besides, is there a list of designated education evaluation agencies in United States which is similar to a list of designated Canada agencies?

Thanks,
Wei
6 replies
Deal Fanatic
Jul 4, 2004
5616 posts
1690 upvotes
Ottawa
I would look for an immigration forum to ask that question as I suspect you might not find anyone here with that level of expertise but I suspect that if the employer is saying it has to be a Canadian evaluation, he's probably already gone through it and he's just speaking from experience.

That said, if it was me, I would contact the POE you are planning to go through to get the TN and ask them. Get the officer's name. Ultimately, they are the ones that will decide and it wouldn't be the first time that POE officers use their own interpretation.
Deal Addict
Aug 18, 2018
1786 posts
1364 upvotes
Bay Area