question for coffee connoisseurs

• Last Updated:
  • Feb 11th, 2019 10:30 pm
[OP]
Nov 8, 2017
19 posts
1 upvote

question for coffee connoisseurs

I'm new to the world of coffee, I usually like to drink hot chocolate, french vanilla etc. Given the taste that I have, would you recommend that I go for light/medium/dark roast coffee?

thanks
42 replies
Deal Fanatic
Jul 29, 2005
7373 posts
1566 upvotes
Mississauga
Wrong forum
My food blog - Reggie The Food Critic.
Deal Expert
Aug 22, 2006
19248 posts
5517 upvotes
Raggie wrote:
Feb 9th, 2019 5:13 pm
Wrong forum
Forums -> Food & Drink

It is? What would be a better one?
May 28, 2012
9999 posts
2170 upvotes
Saskatoon
death_hawk wrote:
Feb 9th, 2019 5:24 pm
Forums -> Food & Drink

It is? What would be a better one?
It was reported and I moved it to Food & Drink.
Deal Addict
Feb 22, 2016
2401 posts
1405 upvotes
sahands334 wrote:
Feb 9th, 2019 4:21 pm
I'm new to the world of coffee, I usually like to drink hot chocolate, french vanilla etc. Given the taste that I have, would you recommend that I go for light/medium/dark roast coffee?

thanks
Depends on how "sophisticated" you want to develop your tastes in coffee. If you're into flavored stuff like French vanilla, hazelnut, etc... any Starbucks will serve you just fine. Light roast = blonde, medium roast = Pike Place, dark roast changes by the season (anniversary blend, Christmas blend, Cafe Verona, etc)

When you want to get into single origins and that sort of thing, then you can try ordering the Starbucks Reserve line of coffees (not every location has these); if you're in Toronto or Vancouver go to the Reserve Bar for the best experience.

That or try any number of independent roasters.

Don't waste your time with garbage like Tim Horton's, Second Cup, Coffee Culture, etc. Start with Starbucks and go up from there.
Deal Expert
Aug 22, 2006
19248 posts
5517 upvotes
Don't forget Keurig! So easy and so many flavors!

*hides from @EastGTARedFlagger*