• Feb 17th, 2018 12:23 pm
[OP]
Banned
Feb 19, 2013
289 posts
534 upvotes
Toronto

Question on RRSP and Dividends

Hi - I am thinking of putting in $10,000 in RRSP for this year to get a tax refund for 2017.

I also have a corporation where i am the only shareholder and will like to withdraw $40,000 as dividends in 2018.

I am a full time student and will not have any other income in 2018.

If i withdraw the RSP contribution of $10,000 in a few months and then $40,000 in dividends. Keeping in mind all the withholding tax and stuff, is the above a good strategy or should i reduce the dividends or change the ratio?

Any advise is appreciated.
9 replies
Deal Fanatic
Nov 19, 2004
8950 posts
1895 upvotes
Cambridge, ON
The idea behind a rrsp is to put money in when your income is high and take it out when your income is low. So in that regard your plan sounds good. However, you have to decide if your 2017 income was high enough to be worth it.

Also, keep in mind your contribution room is lost forever.
Aug 17, 2006
480 posts
249 upvotes
Toronto
I'm not sure if your strategy makes sense.

Do you even have rrsp contributing room? Dividends are taxed at a very low rate. You'll probably have very little tax to pay especially if you include your education tax credits.

I would put that money in your TFSA. Wait until you have more earned income before your start contributing to an RRSP.

You use RRSPs to lower your employment income for the year to receive a tax refund (in addition to saving for retirement, ofcourse) . If you don't have any employment income, you will need to defer the refund.
Deal Fanatic
Nov 19, 2004
8950 posts
1895 upvotes
Cambridge, ON
tweep0 wrote: I'm not sure if your strategy makes sense.

Do you even have rrsp contributing room? Dividends are taxed at a very low rate. You'll probably have very little tax to pay especially if you include your education tax credits.