Questions about T1135 Form

• Last Updated:
  • Jun 9th, 2021 6:38 am
[OP]
Mar 6, 2018
197 posts
157 upvotes

Questions about T1135 Form

I just realize that I might have to fill in this form since I started trading US securities in the US Cash account in 2019. I have a few questions.

The condition states that: If the total cost of all specified foreign property held at any time during the year exceeds $100,000 but was less than $250,000, you are required to complete either Part A or Part B

I've received a tax package from TD with a section that details the Foreign Properties that I held.

1. Under each month in the table there is a total amount. Do I add up all of the months from January to December to decide if I am over the $100,000 / $250,000 threshold?
2. Or do I use the one highest amount of the month in 2019 to determine if I am over the $100,000?

Thanks in advance.
9 replies
Deal Addict
Dec 24, 2007
1652 posts
2038 upvotes
BC
The condition says "at any time during the year" exceeds $100,000. So technically it means the highest cost of your foreign holdings at any day (point of time). However, the CRA will accept that "The maximum cost amount during the year can be based on the maximum month-end cost amount during the year." as stated on the form

So you go with #2. the highest amount of the month
[OP]
Mar 6, 2018
197 posts
157 upvotes
Thank you for the reply! The CRA rep said so as much when I called this morning. It’s good to have two sources of confirmation. Cheers.

WetCoastGuy wrote: The condition says "at any time during the year" exceeds $100,000. So technically it means the highest cost of your foreign holdings at any day (point of time). However, the CRA will accept that "The maximum cost amount during the year can be based on the maximum month-end cost amount during the year." as stated on the form

So you go with #2. the highest amount of the month
Deal Expert
Jan 27, 2006
19542 posts
12621 upvotes
Vancouver, BC