Investing

Questrade make clients pay for their technical issues - Investors Stay Away!

• Last Updated:
  • Jul 21st, 2019 10:13 am
[OP]
Aug 8, 2018
4 posts
4 upvotes

Questrade make clients pay for their technical issues - Investors Stay Away!

Pre-story: I'm an active trader, use QT daily despite buggy as hell trading app (IQ Edge), shorts not available most of the time, etc. I have 6 figures account with them.

Today (May 29) I tried to enter long position 1500 shares/$6.09 @ 12:09, my order is not coming trough and stuck in Pending status, price jumps 40%, to $8.34 at 12:18, order still pending. (What if it comes through after price dropped bellow my entry price, I guess I could lose a lot of money.)
Calling Trading Desk, representative saying he's sorry but they having technical issues and my order will be cancelled and transferring me to client support to discuss compensation, customer support representative saying me - NO compensation.

I ask for a manager, after half-an-hour discussion with team lead, and trying to explain why I have to pay for their mistakes/issues, he told me "I should consider this as lost opportunity", and gives me some excuses that trading is risky, etc, and refuse to give me any compensation except 5 free trades, what a joke $30 vs $3000. I told him to keep them to himself.

I guess they can do whatever they want.

Switching to TD Think or Swim, looks awesome, trade fees higher, but it worth it.
10 replies
Deal Addict
Sep 19, 2009
1603 posts
475 upvotes
Toronto
Questrade for active / day trading? Big mistake. You should have taken the 5 free trades and start looking for a broker.
Aug 7, 2006
211 posts
42 upvotes
Toronto