Careers

Recently told my job is being eliminated, asked to work in a different dept for less salary. Am I entitled to severance?

• Last Updated:
  • Jul 22nd, 2020 4:43 pm
[OP]
Deal Fanatic
Jul 11, 2003
6674 posts
1913 upvotes

Recently told my job is being eliminated, asked to work in a different dept for less salary. Am I entitled to severance?

Last week I was told my job at my company was being made redundant, I'm a graphic designer. Since March our office has been working from home. About week into WFH I was asked if I would help out another department that had been short-staffed, and as there was less graphic design work coming in, they'd really appreciate it.

I said yes, was trained up, and have been working in this temporary role since then. Last week my manager spoke with me to tell me that they are eliminating my graphic design position and would I like to take up this temporary role I've been helping out with. It would mean about a 10% salary cut, but I would be eligible for a yearly bonus as I'd be working in a different department, which means the salary cut would be reduced, depending on the bonus amount. This position is drastically different from my design role, where my passion still lies. I told her I would think about it, and didn't think of any questions to ask at the time as it was unexpected and it was still sinking in.

I've been with the company for almost 18 years, in the same position. If I decline the new role, could I ask to be laid off with a severance package as my graphic design role is being made redundant? I haven't been given anything to sign.

Any advice is appreciated.
------He who dares, Rodders, he who dares------

Heatware Feedback eBay Feedback
X360 Live Gamertag: Frenzied360
29 replies
Deal Expert
Jan 27, 2006
20527 posts
13916 upvotes
Vancouver, BC