• Aug 7th, 2021 10:28 pm
[OP]
Feb 7, 2011
156 posts
18 upvotes
Ottawa

Recommend an advisor (One time fee)

Hi All,

I've been doing my own investments since 2017 and am currently 36 years old. Are there any recommendations for one time fee advisors that would review my portfolio and provide recommendations based on my retirement goals ?

Ultimately, I'm still young but if I should be making changes I would prefer knowing now then 15 years from now.

My current portfolio is quite simple:

RRSP
XAW %75
XIC %25
Return: ~%11 (Annualized)

TFSA
VGRO: %90
Cash: %10
Return: ~%8 (Annualized)

Thanks!
12 replies
Deal Expert
Dec 12, 2009
25186 posts
14916 upvotes
Toronto
Actually you are doing fine with the ETF selection. I would say keep doing what you are doing and forgo the advisor.
Koodo $40/6GB
Public Mobile $40/15GB, lot less with rewards
Fido $0.00/4GB+tablet
Tangerine Bank, EQ Bank, Simplii
Jul 22, 2018
210 posts
168 upvotes
If you dont feel confident in it than maybe do go see one.

why do you keep cash in the tfsa?
Deal Addict
Jan 23, 2011
1379 posts
2026 upvotes
Your two biggest holdings, the Vanguard VGRO and Blackrock XAW, are ETFs that invest in ETFs, which may have higher management expense ratios. But maybe I am picking at straws...
Deal Expert
Dec 12, 2009
25186 posts
14916 upvotes
Toronto
Gingercookie wrote: Your two biggest holdings, the Vanguard VGRO and Blackrock XAW, are ETFs that invest in ETFs, which may have higher management expense ratios. But maybe I am picking at straws...
There is a price to be paid for asset allocation. If the status quo is offering good returns and allows OP to stay the course, don't fix if it ain't broke which is the primary reason to forgo the professional advice. Smiling Face With Open Mouth
Koodo $40/6GB
Public Mobile $40/15GB, lot less with rewards
Fido $0.00/4GB+tablet
Tangerine Bank, EQ Bank, Simplii
Deal Addict
Feb 26, 2017
2565 posts
3649 upvotes