Computers & Electronics

Recommend good anti-virus / firewall software on PC?

• Last Updated:
  • Jun 13th, 2021 5:57 pm
[OP]
Sep 25, 2020
183 posts
89 upvotes

Recommend good anti-virus / firewall software on PC?

Hi,

I'm not really a computer expert but I've had kaspersky, Bitdefender and now McAfee LifeSafe.

I know nothing is 100% secure but having something is better than nothing. I am also very careful and rarely click on any fishy links from emails. I also rarely download as well.

Any recommendation which one is good to protect my PC?
18 replies
Deal Addict
Nov 24, 2013
1720 posts
1027 upvotes
Toronto
If you're on Windows, use the Windows firewall/anti-virus, perform regular system/security updates and practice safe computing (no clicking on links, etc.). I don't see the need for an additional security product.
Deal Fanatic
Oct 16, 2008
8432 posts
3010 upvotes
Maple
Windows has more than sufficient software for firewall/anti-virus/malware, Windows Defender. It’s free with updates.
Deal Fanatic
May 11, 2009
6142 posts
2667 upvotes
Debtario
+1 for the built in windows defender AV, free and does the job. This is assuming you are running windows 10.

For firewall, comodo free firewall is quite powerful if you know what you are doing.

I run Symantec Endpoint Protection, only because I get it free through work though if you google around for it it's easy to come by for "free" - no licensing and never expires.
"I possess a device, in my pocket, capable of accessing the entirety of information known to man. I use it to look at pictures of cats and get in arguments with strangers"
Deal Fanatic
Oct 23, 2004
8676 posts
5635 upvotes
Toronto
Windows Defender with an occasional Malwarebytes free version scan is all you need
Deal Addict
Dec 24, 2007
1563 posts
1866 upvotes
BC
As a first line of defense, do your web browsing in a sandbox, eg. Sandboxie.