• Dec 31st, 2020 12:14 am
[OP]
Deal Addict
Sep 14, 2012
1867 posts
1342 upvotes
Montreal, QC

Recommendations for good or decent skip/jump/speed rope

Any recommendations for good or decent skip/jump/speed rope?

With my fitness center closed (and not sure when they will re-open), I've decided to start this up again.

I don't need or care about any form of electronics/counters built into the rope or handle. For me, I will just be doing it based on the duration.
3 replies
Deal Addict
May 17, 2004
1153 posts
444 upvotes
Markham
Here are my bonafides: I've been skipping rope for 17 years, 30-35 minutes each session 4-5 times per week almost every week barring vacation and injury. This is me skipping 37 minutes (don't count the 2 minutes at the beginning to get set up and warmed up) wearing a 20 lb weight vest. In the first few years, I tried every type of rope I could get my hands on.

Important questions:
How long and how often are you planning on skipping?
What surface do you plan to be skipping on?

General principles (based on personal experience):
Don't get a leather rope. Even with ball bearing handles, the speed is too slow.
Don't use weighted handles. If you need to work on your grip endurance or your elbow flexion endurance, do something else. The weight of the handles will compromise your ability to perform the most important part of the action: skipping.
Avoid thick ropes. Thick rope is generally too light to go fast enough to develop a good rhythm.
Avoid thick handles. Foam grips especially, because you lose the feel of the rope. Better control with thinner and longer handles.

Adjusting to the right length is crucial. Standing with both feet together in the middle of the rope, the handles should reach your armpit. If you keep or drop your handles low when skipping, then it can be the end of the handle into your armpit. If you keep your arms higher, then the end of the handle that attaches to the rope should reach your armpit.

Speed ropes are the best.