• Jan 20th, 2020 4:46 pm
[OP]
Dec 11, 2004
332 posts
54 upvotes
Toronto, ON

Relance Compact Water Heater "Buyout"?

Hi everyone,

My parents and I have been renting the wall mounted compact water heater for 10 years now. It came new when the house was built in 2010. I haven't called Reliance yet, but wondering what the best path is that people face in this situation? Of course, I'm looking to now own instead of buy. I'm wondering if it's a matter of just going to HomeDepot and picking out one, have them install it, and get Reliance to pick mine up from curb? Is it better to buy from the hardware store and get another handperson to install?

Thanks.
8 replies
Deal Fanatic
Oct 16, 2008
7187 posts
2111 upvotes
Maple
Best to buyout and get your own installed. For long run, it is better to own it.
Deal Addict
Jun 24, 2015
3360 posts
784 upvotes
Woodbridge, ON
you might be in a 15 year contract like me, im 10 years into my 15 year contract and my cancellation is like over $1000, im gonna wait till it drops lower
Hi
Deal Addict
Nov 24, 2004
3941 posts
569 upvotes
Toronto
Does your water heater actually need to be replaced, or are you just looking generally to own vs. rent?

We bought out our water heater contract a few years ago. At the time, the buyout cost about the same as two months' worth of rental payments, so it was a no-brainer. We will need to replace it fairly soon, but in the meantime, it works.

It's worth calling Reliance to find out what you'd have to pay. You may also find that your inquiry leads them to offer you a discount or even a few free months (this happened to us too).
[OP]
Dec 11, 2004
332 posts
54 upvotes
Toronto, ON
JHW wrote: Does your water heater actually need to be replaced, or are you just looking generally to own vs. rent?