Careers

Relocate to US or look for a job in Toronto?

• Last Updated:
  • Jun 5th, 2015 11:27 pm
Tags:
None
[OP]
Dec 19, 2009
92 posts
3 upvotes
mississauga

Relocate to US or look for a job in Toronto?

I've got about 8 years of work experience in my field, and I just got my degree in Information Technology. I've lived in US for a while, and actually worked on TN Visa.

I have not even bothered to look for a job in Toronto, but I am wondering as to what you guys think. Is it even worth looking for an IT job in Toronto? I can without a problem get another job offer in US, who will sponsor me with TN Visa, and I would start off at 40-50$/hr based on education/experience. One job offer I had was giving me full paid training + $ 6,000 just for living/transportation costs.

US has a better economy and a better job market, so I am actually considering relocating for good. I am tired of making sh!t money in Canada, and cold winters. Personally, I am ready to give up on living in Ontario. I don't think I'll ever make decent money to even own a house in Canada.

Should I move to US if I am given the opportunity? should I at least spend some time searching for an IT job in Ontario? I've got my graduation in June in Toronto, and I haven't applied for a single job in Ontario yet.
38 replies
Deal Addict
Feb 20, 2008
2631 posts
680 upvotes
I don't understand why you're asking us. You clearly have a preconceived notion of what you want to do. Pursue your happiness however you'd like.
Jul 23, 2014
232 posts
313 upvotes
Toronto, ON
Sounds like you have negative opinions towards Ontario, plus those past offers are pretty good. I'd suggest moving there, but I'd also consider everything you would be leaving behind here.
[OP]
Dec 19, 2009
92 posts
3 upvotes
mississauga
AwakeForever wrote: Sounds like you have negative opinions towards Ontario, plus those past offers are pretty good. I'd suggest moving there, but I'd also consider everything you would be leaving behind here.