Renewing toddlers healthcard

• Last Updated:
  • Oct 17th, 2021 8:31 pm
Apr 20, 2011
422 posts
72 upvotes
Toronto

Renewing toddlers healthcard

I am filling in my son's healthcard and i am not sure what are the values which goes in these fields (I am a canadian resident and he was born here too)

1. What should i put in *Health Number*: Or is it something which is filled by health canada
2. Child Birth Registration Number/Citizenship/Immigration: I see two fields are for this question. What number should i put in here. I got 2 birth certificates (one with parents name and one without parents). It has 2 numbers. Certificate No and there is a barcode at the bottom. Are these 2 values to put in? OR i got a birth certificate from hospital that says "Statement of Live Birth". It has a certificate number on top, should i put it?
Images
  • Screen Shot 2021-10-11 at 6.08.00 PM.png
5 replies
Deal Expert
Feb 7, 2017
27765 posts
27805 upvotes
Eastern Ontario
Been a long time since I had to fill one of these for a kid …
But I do know quite a bit about Govt Forms so this would be my answer

You are doing a RENEWAL
And I assume this is for a REPLACEMENT Ontario OHIP Card

So fill the current # 1 field with his old Health Card # that has expired

Field # 2
They want the Birth Certificate Registration #
The LONG FORM … with both Parents Names on it

NOTE … the Service Ontario website has additional info
https://www.ontario.ca/page/health-card ... #section-0

They also have a long list of documents they accept to confirm identity (the field # 2 requirement)
As well as Province of Residency (documents you as a Parent may need to provide to establish your ID & Address )
https://www.ontario.ca/page/documents-n ... ealth-card
Deal Addict
May 18, 2008
1898 posts
189 upvotes
FYI I sent in the renewal form a few weeks before my sons birthday (July) and I still haven't received the health card. I call them and they said due to covid, it would take 8-10 weeks to arrive, maybe even longer.