• Last Updated:
  • May 9th, 2011 2:56 pm
[OP]
May 8, 2011
2 posts
Woodbridge, Ontario

Renewing your G2 & it's affect on insurance

Hey,

Just came across this forum and it looks like the place where I can get the answer I'm looking for.

I'm a G2 driver in Ontario - Toronto area to be exact.
I guess I should just explain my scenario and see what you guys think...

I got my G1 on December 30th 2003 (completed drivers ed) and got my G2 on July 7, 2004.
As my G2 was about to expire - I decided to be an idiot and wait on the last possible day to take my G test. Unfortunately I failed and had to start all over again...
I took my G1 test all over again, right away - 2 days later took my G2 test - that was February of 2009.

Now an insurance company is telling me that my previous years of driving (from 2003 to 2009) no longer count as experience and that I have to be rated as if I got my license in 2009 (going from a 3 star driver to a 1 star driver).

I was wondering if this were true? One thing I've learned over time dealing with insurance companies is each one tells you something different.

Now for those who are going to say "yes - if that's what they say" here's my argument...
if my G2 license expires tomorrow, and I got a speeding ticket today - does that speeding ticket still not show up on my record for the next 3 years?...

Any help is greatly appreciated!
Thank you.
6 replies
Deal Fanatic
Aug 11, 2008
8555 posts
1271 upvotes
Ontario
pull a drivers abstract for yourself...it will state the date first lic'd...that is the date the insurance company will use.
lg4418 wrote: Hey,

Just came across this forum and it looks like the place where I can get the answer I'm looking for.

I'm a G2 driver in Ontario - Toronto area to be exact.
I guess I should just explain my scenario and see what you guys think...

I got my G1 on December 30th 2003 (completed drivers ed) and got my G2 on July 7, 2004.