• Last Updated:
  • Feb 11th, 2020 7:42 pm
Tags:
[OP]
Jan 4, 2020
11 posts
1 upvote

Rent or Buy in 2020?

My friend who has been renting a townhome for past 5 years has recently been told by the landlord he is putting it up for sale in Ottawa. If the new owner wishes to live in the townhome he is obliged to vacate in 60 days.

He is wondering if should continue renting or buy a house in Ottawa now?

I am new to Ottawa - couple of years and to me the housing market does not look healthy from buyer's perspective e.g. multiple offers, people lining up for new townhome lots released by builders, limited resale home selection, etc. So my inclination would be to wait. If he has to rent a new place the rent would go up by 20%-25% from what he is paying now.

Any thoughts on if he should continue renting or buy a home? His budget is $500K-$600K - which Ottawa or surrounding suburbs offer value?

Thanks!
13 replies
Deal Expert
Feb 29, 2008
19417 posts
17901 upvotes
Tarrana & The Ri…
Buy. Ottawa property has been undervalued for a while and prices are finally going up. I'd always rather buy than rent. For one, no one would be kicking you out. But think about it. If you don't invest money in stocks or something else, what has renting for 5 years gotten your friend? Then renting again....That's a lot of money paying someone else's mortgage. If he can afford it, buy a place he can live in long term and can also rent it out if need be. If the market falters, if your friend is playing the long game, he will be fine.
Mar 29, 2016
209 posts
183 upvotes
Toronto
My opinion would be to Buy and live in it for at least 5 years before you plan to sell.
Popular suburb neighborhood in Ottawa: Kanata, Stittsville (Kanata South), Barrhaven, Riverside South (Future LRT). Freehold Town home starts around 450 ~ 500K.
Glebe & Westboro are pretty expensive. Others can give more information if you post/request in Ottawa forum.
Deal Addict
Jun 7, 2017
1043 posts
834 upvotes
BC