• Last Updated:
  • Aug 21st, 2020 5:50 pm
[OP]
Aug 15, 2018
181 posts
54 upvotes

Renting a backyard for my dog to play?

Hi everyone,

My dog is reactive to other dogs, so we can't bring him to the dog park and unleash him there.

I am looking for a safe place to unleash him, so he can run around etc...

I am relatively new to Toronto and unfortunately don't know many people here, including people who own a house with a backyard.

It might sound strange, but is there a way to rent a backyard? Not like renting an aribnb for a full night, but just a backyard for a day, an afternoon etc...

Would appreciate any thoughts,

Thanks
13 replies
Deal Addict
Jul 25, 2008
1061 posts
477 upvotes
GTA
There are some dog parks that are relatively empty at various times of the day. Some usually have different sections to separate large from small breeds. I don’t know where you are located, but in Richmond Hill, by Leslie and 19th, Phyllis Rawlinson Park usually has an empty park with separate areas.

I sometimes let my dog run around in the empty tennis courts to grind down his nails. Just make sure you let your dog relieve him/herself before entering

I use to have a very reactive dog too, bark aggressively at other dogs during walks with lunging and pulling, sometimes at people too, but when we took him to the dog park, he was always outnumbered and outsized (10lb shorkie). He always acted differently at the park or in crowded dog events (woofstock). He wouldn’t be aggressive, he would just stick by my side and mind his own business. If another dog came up to him, he would walk away. If it got into his face, he would do a subtle growl kind of saying go away. When one on one, its all out crazy barking.
Deal Fanatic
May 14, 2009
6382 posts
1204 upvotes