Real Estate

Renting vs owning dilemma

• Last Updated:
  • Feb 22nd, 2020 2:19 pm
Mar 23, 2019
204 posts
190 upvotes

Renting vs owning dilemma

I've been sitting on it for sometime now and after all my math was not helping me I thought I'll check with you guys.

Ideally, I would like to live in my own house either 1 bed or bachelor's in Downtown or as close to downtown as possible given the budget of 600k. Here's the situation I can invest this 20% down payment and get 7.5% ROI Or I get myself my first property here and pay close to $2500 per month hoping for value appreciation overtime which hopefully would beat the 7.5% I could've made by investing elsewhere.

To be cash flow+ Im also thinking of having a roommate and get about 1000 in rent.

I don't know if I'm thinking this straight I have no experience buying properties And I'm new to this country so please help me with your suggestions.
9 replies
Deal Expert
Feb 29, 2008
21738 posts
21353 upvotes
Tarrana & The Ri…
Condo prices are going up at that rate or better and on top of that you need a place to sleep. Lock in your payments. I would always pick owning over renting if you have no plans of leaving the city.

As far as roommate, you would need a 2 bedroom which is above your budget.

Lastly, can you afford a 1 bed and will your income increase beyond just inflation in the coming years?
Deal Addict
Feb 19, 2019
2347 posts
4020 upvotes
Stouffville ON
The benefit of renting is flexibility, If you are paying rent and will be settling in Toronto I would say get into the market sooner and avoid paying rent.
The roommate option is available if den is big enough to pretend to be a bedroom.
Full Time and Full Service Realtor
Mar 23, 2019
204 posts
190 upvotes
JayLove06 wrote: Condo prices are going up at that rate or better and on top of that you need a place to sleep. Lock in your payments. I would always pick owning over renting if you have no plans of leaving the city.