• Last Updated:
  • Dec 29th, 2020 5:45 pm
[OP]
Jun 17, 2020
24 posts
8 upvotes

Repay or Invest in second property

Hi All ,
Newbie here and will appreciate suggestions/advice on weather I should pay out my existing mortgage ( outstanding mortgage balance 282k , property price is around 560k , will be coming up for renewal/ refinance in April 2021 ) as I am sitting on some 125 k cash or should I invest this cash as down payment to buy another property looking at low interest rates. Also what should be approach for buying second property -precon or anything available? Also is there any link to calculate cash flows ?
26 replies
Deal Addict
Jan 15, 2010
1114 posts
1304 upvotes
Toronto
You have 125k in cash in addition to the equity in the property? Are you currently invested in anything besides real estate?

Is the first property your primary residence? Also, where are you located and are you willing to be a landlord?
[OP]
Jun 17, 2020
24 posts
8 upvotes
Yes that’s correct 125 k cash + equity in the property. I am moderately invested in tfsa , rrsp and equities ( through esops from my US employer) but not maxed out my limits yet.
First property is my primary residence . I am currently based out in Montreal, QC but looking for property outside preferably in Ontario Ottawa is my preference looking at its proximity to Montreal.
Deal Expert
Feb 8, 2014
19764 posts
7242 upvotes
Socially Distanced
Being house rich but cash poor is not a great place to be when expenses come along.
And with interest rates lower than the rate of inflation you are investing in a strange way by paying down the mortgage.
That said over leveraging is not ideal either.
As for rental property being a landlord can be a cake walk or excruciating and expensive. Its a risk you are taking.

That said i don't have specific advice at this point because your age and income and family status would affect my advice.
In fact in Rand McNally they wear hats on their feet and hamburders eat people
[OP]