• Last Updated:
  • Feb 19th, 2020 4:27 pm
[OP]
Nov 17, 2007
211 posts
15 upvotes
Thunder Bay

Replace an old furnace in Thunder Bay.

My old furnace is about to reach the end of service period and am looking for buying and installing a new one. I just got an offer $4300 CAD of an 2-stage Goldman furnace. I have no experience about the furnace and pricing. Any suggestions about the furnace and the price range. And also is this a good time to replace it or should I wait until summer? The furnace is still working.
5 replies
Feb 16, 2020
54 posts
16 upvotes
Windsor
Do you maybe mean Goodman ? If so look up the model online and you will find here here in Ontario for FAR less then that. The money is in the install and those guys are not afraid to charge. Try and find a guy in the trade that works for a larger company that will work with ya on installing it. As to your question, i say now is the time as once heat hits us they will be going crazy with work. Research and pick on your time, not once you have to take the first one that comes along.
Oct 8, 2010
178 posts
42 upvotes
Check out the rebates that are available:

https://www.uniongas.com/residential/sa ... ome-rebate $500 off towards your furnace and a few other upgrades.

Also make sure it's a variable speed motor GMVC. Depending on the size of your home, the price seems to be the going market rate for outside the GTA. It also depends on how complex the install is.

Does it come with 10 year labour warranty or just parts?

Goodman offers aluminum and stainless steel heat exchanger. Amana is their sister brand and offers both stainless steel heat exchangers and also a replacement warranty.

Get a few prices in writing from some companies and compare.
Deal Addict
Aug 12, 2007
4339 posts
707 upvotes
Waterloo