Automotive

Required extended warranty on leased car?

• Last Updated:
  • Jul 28th, 2021 1:54 pm
Deal Fanatic
Aug 4, 2005
8164 posts
805 upvotes
Brampton
Like other mentioned the dealership is lying about the extended warranty. I suggest shopping at a different dealership now.

Also like other mentioned, you don't need to lease to build credit. Finance a car instead and use a credit card as much as possible for purchases. Just alway pay on time and don't carry any balance to get charged interest. Also if shopping for a home soon, maybe it's better to shop used. This depends on your financial situation.
Deal Fanatic
Jul 26, 2007
5793 posts
3320 upvotes
Toronto
Embrace wrote: I have been using credit card for like 4 years and not sure why they rejected my application with the reason that I have limited credit history. Probably I will need to call Equifax to understand. If I can figure out I already have some sort of credit history, although I don't have any loan, that will eliminate the need for building credit history and I may go with cash.

I shopped around before going in and this dealer provided the lowest quote already. I will see how it turns tomorrow. I want the car but honestly this makes me want to back off.
If you want to build credit or just want to check and get a rough idea, sign up with borrowell for Equifax and creditkarma for TransUnion.

Apply for multiple credit cards and use them once a month. Each cc co will send data to EF and TU, thus increasing your score if you make the min or pay off the monthly bills on time.
Nov 13, 2016
686 posts
356 upvotes