None
[OP]
Oct 9, 2009
139 posts
122 upvotes
Vancouver

Resume Critique (Accounting)

Hi all,

I was wondering if any of you can help me critique my resume. I am an aspiring CPA and I hope to land a position in the big 4. Any recommendations outside of the resume is appreciated as well.

https://www.dropbox.com/s/7yrhs6ctb2aqa ... e.pdf?dl=0

Thanks!
6 replies
Mar 2, 2012
391 posts
2359 upvotes
North Bay
Improved vendor relationships by resolving 4-year outstanding payments at two major accounts

Just being picky but should you remove the - ??? and type four instead for 4?? Like I said just being picky. lol....
Any other volunteer work? Doesn't have to be job related....

Cover page is a must, attach a criminal check?? Not sure about this job but it is a must in many positions.
Feb 19, 2009
587 posts
77 upvotes
USA
1) always use a summary of qualifications, nobody wants to read 8 or however many bulletpoints you have. keep the summary limited to 3 or 4 key points, with most of them only 1 line long
2) add volunteer and club experiences in a separate section
3) i can see you "managed" stuff and "created" stuff but what skills do they show? don't highlight what you did, but highlight what skills they demonstrate... organization, prioritization, computing skills...
4) quantifying w/o context? $400,000 per month = how many transactions? are you fast, efficient, and accurate vs other people? managing over 800/600 invoices - what does the "managing" comprise of? what are you actually doing?
5) max 3 responsibilities/accomplishments per job. nobody wants to read 6-8 bullet points.

EDIT: and a few other things...
6) use less words and simpler, direct sentence structure to get your point across. "Provided recommendations" = "Recommended". "Through implementation" = "by implementing"
7) every point should have the same tense and structure. improved =/= reconciling.