[OP]
Jul 27, 2008
54 posts
2 upvotes
Alberta, Canada

Resume...critique please =)

Hi all,

A little bit of background:

I graduated last year with a BSN, and unable to find work in the city, I landed a RN job in rural Alberta. The first job I had didn't work out quite as well as I had hoped, but I was able to land another rural nursing job fairly soon after I was let go from my first position. I'm starting to look for jobs in Calgary and Edmonton, and I'd like some feedback on my resume. The skills and competencies section is actually a table on my resume, but I don't know how to format it into a table here. Thanks in advance!

SimplicityGirl, RN
Address - Phone number
____________________________________________________________________________________________

REGISTERED NURSE
PERFORMANCE PROFILE

Registered Nurse with acute medical-surgical nursing experience in a rural setting; possessing strong interpersonal and clinical skills delivering competent, safe, and professional nursing care. Have Charge Nurse experience—familiar with skills such as delegation, order processing, patient assignment and making rounds with physicians. Able to critically think and intervene appropriately in response to patients’ changing health statuses; monitored and stabilized patients in critical conditions prior to transfers to urban facilities. Experienced in working as part of an interdisciplinary healthcare team, and able to communicate in a clear, concise manner. Conscientious, dependable, punctual, and a fast learner.
SKILLS AND COMPETENCIES

 Nursing process
 Admission and Discharge planning
 Meditech and Netcare
 Patient advocacy
 Patient education
 Intravenous medication administration
 Heparin drips
 Insulin drips
 PICC line maintenance
 Drawing blood from PICC line
 Blood and blood products administration
 Wound care
 Chest tube maintenance
 Catheter maintenance
 End-of-life care