• Last Updated:
  • Oct 4th, 2021 10:16 am
[OP]
Jun 1, 2017
834 posts
718 upvotes
Mississauga

[Rona] Ecobee 4 Smart Thermostat $165 on clearance YMMV

Last edited by projectman44 on Aug 11th, 2021 3:07 pm, edited 1 time in total.
24 replies
Jan 12, 2017
699 posts
2081 upvotes
too bad. you can't use enbridge coupon.
what's the main diff btw this model and the latest one?
Deal Addict
Dec 19, 2007
4428 posts
3748 upvotes
Ontario
redondo2017 wrote: too bad. you can't use enbridge coupon.
what's the main diff btw this model and the latest one?
TBH I think this is the latest one. I think the one most people got for free / cheap was the model 3? idk if it had a lite version or not. I think this one had voice controls?
---
Deal Addict
Aug 6, 2007
2214 posts
716 upvotes
Noob here. My current thermostat wiring looks like this. Will I be able to install this Ecobee 4?
Images
  • IMG_20210811_144405.jpg
Aug 12, 2011
20 posts
20 upvotes
Yes, but you’ll need to use the included Power Extender Kit (PEK). It’s basically an adapter that you have to wire in to your furnace wires so the Ecobee can get power. You could also use a generic 24V transformer that you plug in to the wall (the other end wires in to the thermostat)
Jan 20, 2005
898 posts
1198 upvotes
Toronto
I have 2 on hold at Rona Mississauga (Dundas). I won't be able to get there tonight, so I am calling them now to take them off hold. If you need them, head over!
Deal Addict
Aug 6, 2007
2214 posts
716 upvotes
canada2010van wrote: Yes, but you’ll need to use the included Power Extender Kit (PEK). It’s basically an adapter that you have to wire in to your furnace wires so the Ecobee can get power. You could also use a generic 24V transformer that you plug in to the wall (the other end wires in to the thermostat)
Thanks. I managed to buy one in Oakville on Spears. There is 1 unit left, it is kept locked up.
Mar 26, 2012
229 posts
287 upvotes
Mississauga