Home & Garden

Roofing - Venting (Max Ventilator) and Shingles (CRC) Reviews/Feedback?

• Last Updated:
  • Jun 26th, 2019 5:50 pm
[OP]
Nov 23, 2010
994 posts
355 upvotes
Toronto

Roofing - Venting (Max Ventilator) and Shingles (CRC) Reviews/Feedback?

I live in the GTA in a row townhouse of 8 units, and recently we all decided that we need to do our roofing.

We called up a few contractors, and we are generally settled on one as he seems to know what hes talking about.

Im a first time home owner, and this is my first time hiring a roofing contractor and had a few questions about the materials hes suggesting on using

He had quoted to do a "Maximum roof Ventilator" would be +$300 on top of the quote.

I see at Home depot its sold for about $130, so I guess his pricing is fair enough albeit I feel on the higher end.

He did mention though that given the size of my roof (he said its roughly 1200 square feet) and the current number of vents I have (about 3 in the front section, but the roof over all has 7) he would actually remove/seal off two vents and install just the one single max roof vent. So in total I would have 4 roof vents left + 1 max vent.

So I had a few questions I hope someone can provide some experience/insight

-Is the pricing "fair" as quoted?
-Does it make sense to remove 2 vents and install the one max vent? Or should I be keeping all the vents, and just replacing the one with the max vent? I would think "more" venting is better?
-Lastly, I was wondering if anyone really noticed a "difference" by installing one of these max vents?

I have been in my attic a few times in winter and summer, I thankfully havent noticed any leaks or mold. I havent noticed any weird condensation or anything, the wood still looks good from the inside. Im just curious if anyone noticed a difference in terms of "home comfort".