None
[OP]
Deal Addict
Oct 9, 2010
2760 posts
918 upvotes
Windsor

Roomba Suggestions

I have ~800sq.ft of hardwood I would like to have a Roomba maintain, and have 2x normal-hair-length cats. I don't leave random crap around, and my furniture is minimalistic.

The rooms I'd like to clean are 16x14, 10x14,10x8, 20x14, and a 14x3 hallway connecting them all.

Ideally, it'd magically clean one room / day or something, but I am cool with setting it free in a random room manually. I am home all day.

Would it be reasonable to have a Roomba accomplish this task? If so, what features do I need?
11 replies
Deal Guru
May 9, 2007
10418 posts
3237 upvotes
Vancouver Island, BC
That seems reasonable to me.

I have a Roomba on each of two floors. Each floor is about 1150 sq ft. Each floor has about four rooms.

I can't recall the model numbers, but each Roomba is at the level than includes an invisible wall and the "home seeking" so the Roomba finds its charging device. I wouldn't buy a Roomba that was lacking one of these features.

I have a medium hair cat. If I were buying a Roomba now I might buy a pet-level Roomba. I have to do a bit of disassembly of my Roombas about one apever 12-18 months to clean out cat hair.
"It is difficult to get a man to understand something when his salary depends on his not understanding it." Upton Sinclair

Our house is on fire.” Greta Thunberg
[OP]
Deal Addict
Oct 9, 2010
2760 posts
918 upvotes
Windsor
MexiCanuck wrote: That seems reasonable to me.

I have a Roomba on each of two floors. Each floor is about 1150 sq ft. Each floor has about four rooms.

I can't recall the model numbers, but each Roomba is at the level than includes an invisible wall and the "home seeking" so the Roomba finds its charging device. I wouldn't buy a Roomba that was lacking one of these features.