• Last Updated:
  • Apr 20th, 2021 8:41 pm
[OP]
Deal Guru
Dec 5, 2006
10651 posts
5655 upvotes
Markham
lmcjipo wrote: I know about credit cards from having/using them since my early twenties as well as reading RedFlagDeals on new credit card products. For example, I would never have known that Canadians were eligible for a TD Bank NA Visa without RedFlagDeals and would have continued to use my TD Canada Trust US dollar Visa which offers no points and very limited benefits.

In terms of personal finance, I studied this part-time at the same time as I was going to university thinking that I might become a financial planner/advisor but in the end, for personal reasons, my career choice dealt with my university studies (computers) for a career in IT. However, I still like to keep myself informed about the changes in personal finance (since when I took my personal finance/investing course(s), there was no such thing as TFSA).
Thanks
I think personal finance should be mandatory in education
Deal Addict
Sep 14, 2012
1844 posts
1323 upvotes
Montreal, QC
smartie wrote: Thanks
I think personal finance should be mandatory in education
I agree with you 100%
Oct 14, 2012
712 posts
447 upvotes
Woodstock
Make sure that your RRSP contributions and deductions are properly reported on Schedule 7. You want to report everything you contributed. You want to deduct the most you are allowed for 2020. And you want to carry-forward as unused RRSP deduction amount the excess (maybe $6000 based on what you said about "over" by 6000.)

It's very important to report that you contributed it, even though you cannot use the deduction yet. Otherwise it can cause problems with a mismatch between what you reported contributing and what the bank tells the CRA you contributed.

https://www.canada.ca/content/dam/cra-a ... s7-20e.pdf
[OP]
Deal Guru
Dec 5, 2006
10651 posts
5655 upvotes
Markham