Schengen visa as a Permanent Resident of Canada

• Last Updated:
  • Apr 4th, 2019 4:48 pm
[OP]
Jul 17, 2012
8 posts
Ottawa

Schengen visa as a Permanent Resident of Canada

I am a Canadian Permanent Resident (not a citizen yet), so for travelling to Europe I need to apply for the Schengen Visa. One thing that is confusing me is for applying for the visa I need to show a "Flight Itinerary or booking". Does anyone know how to get a "itinerary or booking" without purchasing the actual ticket? It doesn't make sense that someone purchases the ticket just to show it at the visa office and then if his visa is rejected he loses the price of the ticket. My itinerary might be a little complex since I plan to travel to multiple countries. I plan to stay the most in Italy, so it makes sense that I apply for the visa at the Italian Embassy. So far, my planned itinerary looks like this, entry to Rome and exit from Paris.
Canada - Rome
Rome - Venice
Venice - Santorini
Santorini - Paris
Paris - Canada

Any ideas how I can proceed with the visa application?
15 replies
Deal Addict
Jan 31, 2006
4981 posts
875 upvotes
Toronto
I have applied to lots of visa for my gf before so i know the process pretty well. if you provide all the information they required and you are working, living here and don't have financial issues i don't see an issue with getting the visa. But anyways you should check if your credit card covers Visa denial. I know the TD first class travel visa does so i always purchase the tickets anyways. i think some travel agency can help you "reserve" the tickets first but it might cost more.
HEATWARE 18-0-0 since 2006
EBAY 38-0-0 Since 2003

IG: mkdrone_
[OP]
Jul 17, 2012
8 posts
Ottawa
Thanks for your response. So far, I can see two options:

1. Buy refundable ticket (lot more expensive, and might charge cancellation fees). Apply for visa. If visa is either accepted or rejected, cancel ticket. If visa is accepted, buy new cheaper tickets.