• Sep 12th, 2020 12:48 pm
Tags:
[OP]
Deal Addict
Jan 31, 2007
3304 posts
660 upvotes

Seeking advice on Washer/Dryer Sets

I have to buy a new dryer, since ours doesn't dry properly anymore --but my significant other wants matching sets. I saw LG are pretty cheap now, and also Samsung. I am not experienced at this at all. I know Maytag used to be good back in the day.
Any advice would be grateful.
14 replies
Deal Addict
Jul 7, 2017
4653 posts
2022 upvotes
SW corner of the cou…
Why does it not dry well anymore? Might want to check if the duct/outlet are clogged with lint.

As for Korean quality:

Cream rises to the top. So does scum.
Deal Guru
Mar 8, 2002
12094 posts
3405 upvotes
GTA
EEE2 wrote: I have to buy a new dryer, since ours doesn't dry properly anymore --but my significant other wants matching sets. I saw LG are pretty cheap now, and also Samsung. I am not experienced at this at all. I know Maytag used to be good back in the day.
Any advice would be grateful.
LG make a great washing machine, consistently top of ratings.

Samsung are garbage, among the worst you can buy. Steer well clear.

( ͡° ͜ʖ ͡°)
Deal Addict
May 23, 2009
2586 posts
1071 upvotes
Mississauga
Hugh Jass wrote: LG make a great washing machine, consistently top of ratings.

Samsung are garbage, among the worst you can buy. Steer well clear.
+1
Deal Expert
Jun 12, 2007
15445 posts
4606 upvotes
London
thriftshopper wrote: Why does it not dry well anymore? Might want to check if the duct/outlet are clogged with lint.
A buddy had the same problem - turned out to be lint plugging the exit grill on the exhaust vent outside
Jun 30, 2009
642 posts
108 upvotes
Vancouver
If it's not heating up, I've experienced that. Turned out to be an issue with the timer dial. I bought a replacement part for around $100, installed it, and problem solved. But it could also be the thermostat - a coworker said that was his issue.

You can check with a $20 multimeter and a YouTube video as a guide.