• Jul 9th, 2012 10:46 pm
Tags:
None
[OP]
Apr 26, 2012
423 posts
13 upvotes

Should I do more education?

I just graduated with a degree in Communications and Media. I'd like to get into PR/corporate communications or something related, but I realized too late that this degree didn't give me enough hard skills and I have no experience regardless. I'm not confident in applying for even entry level jobs with only an arts degree.

Since I have nothing to distinguish myself, I've been mulling over the idea of doing a 2 year college diploma on marketing or advertising to get more practical knowledge and hopefully a co-op placement or an internship. This, I figure, would give me the skills, connections, and experience I need to make myself more competitive and be in a better position to land a job. I've also considered a masters for similar reasons. I'm 21.

Does this sound like a good idea? Or would my time be better spent just pounding the pavement, being persistent, and networking like crazy for an entry-level job? Right now I'm working a full-time landscaping summer job.

If you have any other suggestions, like volunteering or switching career paths, feel free.

Thanks.
11 replies
Deal Guru
Dec 7, 2009
13841 posts
1337 upvotes
If you're landscaping full-time, you probably realize by now that there are far worse places to be than in school.

For that reason alone I'd say, go for it.
In a perfect system, corporations would fear the government and the government would fear the people. - David Wong

Check out caRpetbomBer's picks in this thread.
Jul 2, 2012
527 posts
11 upvotes
dsg512 wrote: I just graduated with a degree in Communications and Media. I'd like to get into PR/corporate communications or something related, but I realized too late that this degree didn't give me enough hard skills and I have no experience regardless. I'm not confident in applying for even entry level jobs with only an arts degree.