Personal Finance

Should I negotiate a converted CAD to US Offer Letter?

• Last Updated:
  • Jun 2nd, 2021 2:39 pm
[OP]
Aug 21, 2007
161 posts
28 upvotes

Should I negotiate a converted CAD to US Offer Letter?

I received an offer letter from a US based company at the end of 2020 and I have been WFH since here in Canada. At the time, the offer letter was presented in CAD as well as insurance and other things were Canadian. However, now I am in the process of moving down to the states to work and I am being offered a slightly different offer letter but in USD, also for VISA purposes etc. The conversion rate being applied here is from the date of the initial offer letter(i.e. end of 2020) and not the current rate. Of course, the CAD is much stronger now and was wondering if it is worth negotiating here to bump up the salary which is now presented in USD? Any other things I should consider when a change of contract like this happens as its my first time.
2 replies
Deal Fanatic
Jul 4, 2004
8758 posts
1695 upvotes
lilVC wrote: I received an offer letter from a US based company at the end of 2020 and I have been WFH since here in Canada. At the time, the offer letter was presented in CAD as well as insurance and other things were Canadian. However, now I am in the process of moving down to the states to work and I am being offered a slightly different offer letter but in USD, also for VISA purposes etc. The conversion rate being applied here is from the date of the initial offer letter(i.e. end of 2020) and not the current rate. Of course, the CAD is much stronger now and was wondering if it is worth negotiating here to bump up the salary which is now presented in USD? Any other things I should consider when a change of contract like this happens as its my first time.