• Last Updated:
  • Aug 15th, 2017 11:01 am
Tags:
[OP]
May 18, 2015
34 posts
12 upvotes

Should I take the jump?

I need some advice. I'm not looking for a straight answer of yes or no, because at the end of the day, it's only me who can make the decision but I am just looking for different perspective.
I currently for work the federal government. I graduated from social work just over 2 years ago and worked as an Employment Counsellor for a good year and a half. I jumped ship to take an entry level position in the public service biecause it was a bit more money, and the working conditions at my previous jobs just went down hill. My current position is great. I get all these opportunities to grow and learn new things and take on new challenges. The only aspect I don't truly enjoy is being stuck on the phones (it's the call centre for EI) so I take every opportunity that's thrown at me, so coaching peers, to training, and I am trying to obtain a Team Leader position (although it's hard because it's really about who you know). But anyways, to get to the point: I spoke with an old professor of mine and they are looking to hire a part time prof to teach a course. I am going to submit my name for a change at the job and see where it goes. If it's a night class, great cause I can keep my FT job and teach on the side.