None
[OP]
Deal Addict
Feb 26, 2016
1198 posts
299 upvotes
Vaughan

Shrub Recommendations - Hedging

I'm a complete newb when it comes to gardening. I'm looking to plant some shrubs that would allow me to create a hedge such as the attached picture.

I checked out a few nurseries plus lowes and found something called a green mountain boxwood.

1) Is it easy to maintain?
2) Does it grow fast? How long will it take for me to grow it to a point that I can create a hedge?
3) Should I buy the 3gallon or 1gallon plants? the 1 gallon boxwoods are obviously a lot cheaper but worried that will take too long to grow out.

Any other recommendations and advice is greatly appreciated.

5 replies
Deal Addict
Sep 12, 2007
2644 posts
863 upvotes
interesting thread, I'd like to know those answers too! :)
Deal Addict
Jan 4, 2007
1440 posts
143 upvotes
GTA
otaknap wrote: I'm a complete newb when it comes to gardening. I'm looking to plant some shrubs that would allow me to create a hedge such as the attached picture.

I checked out a few nurseries plus lowes and found something called a green mountain boxwood.

1) Is it easy to maintain?
2) Does it grow fast? How long will it take for me to grow it to a point that I can create a hedge?
3) Should I buy the 3gallon or 1gallon plants? the 1 gallon boxwoods are obviously a lot cheaper but worried that will take too long to grow out.

Any other recommendations and advice is greatly appreciated.

I have a few boxwoods in my front yard.
1 gallon will take at least 3-4 years to get to the point of triming/hedging.

Id start with 3 gallon but keep in mind it will take atleast 2 years . then you can start trimming.. by the 5 year mark with PROPER trimming. you should have a nice low hedge.
[OP]
Deal Addict
Feb 26, 2016
1198 posts
299 upvotes
Vaughan
speeeeee wrote: I have a few boxwoods in my front yard.
1 gallon will take at least 3-4 years to get to the point of triming/hedging.