So I tested positive for Covid 19

• Last Updated:
  • Mar 3rd, 2021 12:58 am
[OP]
Mar 5, 2017
42 posts
126 upvotes

So I tested positive for Covid 19

I work in the film industry in Toronto where they have regular testing of all crew members. I was tested on Sunday feb 7, 2021 for a project I was starting the following tuesday. I got a call late monday telling me I had tested positive and I couldn't go to work the next day.

I see on the news about all these cases of people testing positive and I wonder what the hell are people doing to allow the virus to continue to spread. If we would just follow the guidelines we would get over this, and then I go and test positive!

I have no idea where I got it, and I have no symptoms. I haven't been at work since Dec 16th and I have limited my contact to my family bubble of my wife and two kids. I had left the house before I tested positive, I had gone shopping with a mask and always sanitizing my hands when I get in the car. I had been doing some renovations in the basement of a rental property I own, but I had no contact with anyone in the building in the weeks before I tested positive, and I work by myself or with my family. I would wear a mask in the common area of the building.

Public health called me on tuesday and went over what I have to do with respect to quarantine. I have taken one room in the house that I stay in that no one else goes in, I use a separate bathroom and my wife leaves me food at the door. My family now has to quartantine for 14 days, as opposed to the 10 days I only need to quarantine from my positive test.

My wife works part-time in a long term care home so she gets tested regularly. She was told to go get tested immediately and we had our two kids tested at the same time. They all came back negative.