Deal Addict
Jul 2, 2008
2122 posts
342 upvotes
Toronto

Soil for raised flower beds

Hi all,

Two questions:

1. Does anyone know the optimal mix for raised flower beds?

I got four 4x4 raised beds, 12 inches tall. Planning to toss a bunch of spring flower bulbs in there in September, but I need to fill them up first. I'm a complete gardening noob, so no idea what mix of soil to put in them.

2. Where to get the soil? I'm located in the East end.

I looked around at some landscaping companies. I can get 1 cubic yard of triple mix for $130 delivered. From an online calculator, I need around 2.4 cubic yards to fill all four planters, so it really adds up.
13 replies
Deal Addict
Dec 19, 2015
2964 posts
1540 upvotes
Calgary, AB
Triple mix should be good. You want mostly dirt with some compost and additives in.

Price I can’t help but that price is probably not unreasonable. Here you’re looking at around $70 a yard (bulk) but then you’re paying $100 for delivery. It’s an annoying amount because delivery becomes expensive.

Perhaps look at bagged soil and pick it up in a car if you don’t have a truck?
Deal Addict
Nov 7, 2012
1440 posts
769 upvotes
TORONTO
You don't need to fill the whole thing with soil. You can put leaves and old non treated wood/chips on the bottom half. Rocks work as well. Basically, you don't need a full 12" of soil for plants to grow. You can add filler. Theres a few videos on youtube. Theres an Aussie/NZ guy who gives a good breakdown on how to fill a large planter.
Deal Expert
Sep 1, 2005
18054 posts
12776 upvotes
Markham
For raised beds, you want something ideally lighter than triple mix. Are you planting seeds? Or will you be planting something like 4"pot plants?
We're all bozos on the bus until we find a way to express ourselves...

Failure is always an option...just not the preferred one!
Deal Addict
Dec 19, 2015
2964 posts
1540 upvotes
Calgary, AB