• Jun 5th, 2018 9:00 pm
Tags:
[OP]
Nov 9, 2016
181 posts
74 upvotes

Is SQL hard to learn?

Hey everyone,

I'm a entry level worker in the financial services sector, after looking at tons of job postings I see that a lot of business analyst and banking positions require SQL. I have a finance degree and sadly I was never taught this.

I'm wondering if anyone has done SQL and if it is worth it to learn and if it's a hard programming language to learn. I did a course in C programming before at Seneca and I found it difficult (dropped the class before the midterm), i've also played around with HTML and CSS just through watching Youtube videos and other online resources.

Also, should I even try to learn SQL or can I just move up the ranks and around the financial sector without it. I say that because after working a full day and coming home at 6:30pm it's pretty difficult to get into the mood to study and learn.

Thanks!
22 replies
Deal Addict
Aug 31, 2005
1495 posts
1036 upvotes
Richmond
No, it is not hard to learn. Whether it is worth it is entirely up to your position. However, until you know at least a little SQL you can't really tell what you can use it for so it is difficult to judge.

Best thing to do is to simply learn a bit of it first. You can never learn "too much". Once you know some basic of SQL you will be able to tell.

C is really not nearly the same thing as SQL, incomparable, in fact. Some people can do both, some can do neither, and some can do one or the other. You are really the only one who can determine that.

Do some online course first. https://www.w3schools.com/sql/ has some super simpe tutorial. If you find this too challenging. You might not be cut out for it. If you find it a breeze or even fun. Maybe you are into something?
Deal Fanatic
Mar 10, 2005
8877 posts
2811 upvotes
therealbry wrote: Hey everyone,